How to Start an LLC in New Jersey: Best Guide

How to Start an LLC in New Jersey: Best Guide


Do you want to start an LLC in New Jersey and need a guide? Don’t worry; we got you covered. 

Starting an LLC is easy with this guide on how to start an LLC in New Jersey. 

All LLC formation in the United States requires some steps and requirements. 

So this article will expose you to the simple steps on how to start an LLC in New Jersey. 

How To Start An LLC In New Jersey

To start an LLC in New Jersey, you must go through some steps and meet all the requirements. 

Choose a Name for Your LLC

For all LLCs in New Jersey, the name must contain the words “Limited Liability Company” or the abbreviation “L.L.C.” 

Also, your LLC’s name must be distinct from the names of other business entities already on file with the New Jersey Division of Revenue & Enterprise Services. 

However, your names may be checked for availability at the New Jersey Business Record Service business name database.

In addition, you may reserve a name for 120 days by filing an Application for Reservation of Name (UNRR-1) with the New Jersey Division of Revenue & Enterprise Services. Meanwhile, the application must be filed online at New Jersey’s Business Charter Amendment Service website for $50.

Furthermore, you can register an Alternate Name for your business which is (Form C-150G) is available in the Complete Business Registration Packet. 

This filing fee is $50 for the registration for five years. 

Appoint a Registered Agent

All LLCs in New Jersey must have an agent for the service of process in the state. 

This agent is an individual or business entity that agrees to accept legal papers on the LLC’s behalf if it is sued. 

Meanwhile, the registered agent may be a New Jersey resident or a foreign or domestic corporation authorized to do business in New Jersey. 

Also, the registered agent must have a physical street address in New Jersey.

Complete the Public Records Filing

You can create your LLC in New Jersey LLC by filing a Public Records Filing for New Business Entity with the New Jersey Department of Treasury, Division of Revenue & Enterprise Services. 

Meanwhile, the filing must include:

  • the LLC’s name
  • the New Jersey three-letter code for domestic LLCs–“LLC.”
  • the LLC’s business purpose
  • the LLC’s dissolution date, if any
  • the name and address of the LLC’s registered agent, and
  • the signature of any authorized representative.

The filing fee is $125, and you must pay an additional $3.50 if you file online and pay by credit card.

Prepare an Operating Agreement

An LLC operating agreement is an internal document that establishes how your LLC will be run. 

Moreover, it sets out the rights and responsibilities of the members and managers, including how the LLC will be managed. 

Also, it can help preserve your limited liability by showing that your LLC is truly a separate business entity. 

Meanwhile, state LLC law will govern your LLC’s operations without an operating agreement. 

Comply With Tax and Regulatory Requirements

You must comply with the following Additional tax and regulatory requirements applied to your LLC:

Employers Identification Number: You must obtain an EIN if your LLC has more than one member from the IRS, even if it has no employees. 

Also, If you form a one-member LLC, you must obtain an EIN for it only if it will have employees, or you elect to have it taxed as a corporation instead of a sole proprietorship (disregarded entity). 

You can obtain an EIN by completing an online EIN application on the IRS website with no filing fee.

Business Licenses: The State of New Jersey may require you to obtain a license, certification, or registration, depending on your business. 

More so, your LLC may need to obtain a local business license from the city or county. 

State Tax Registration: All New Jersey and foreign LLCs approved to do business in New Jersey must register with the New Jersey Division of Revenue, whether they plan on collecting sales tax or having employees. 

However, you can file a Business Registration Application, Form NJ-REG, with the Division of Revenue. 

Meanwhile, the form may be filed online or by mail. 

However, the initial Public Records Filing should be submitted before filing the Application, and the Application filed within 60 days after that. 

However, the New Jersey LLCs must pay an annual minimum state tax of $125 per member. 

File Annual Reports

All New Jersey LLCs and foreign LLCs approved to do business in the state must file an annual report. 

However, the report must be filed each year on the anniversary of the LLC’s formation or authorization to do business in New Jersey. Also, the report must be filed online through the New Jersey Division of Revenue Annuals and Change Services webpage for $50. 


As simple as filing an LLC in New Jersey is, you will follow simple guides and requirements to get your LLC running in New Jersey. 

The steps have been simplified and explained in this guide on how to start an LLC in New Jersey. 

The first step to take on how to start an LLC in New Jersey is to do a name search and reserve your name.

However, you must note that another business must not have used the name you choose for your LLC and ensure that the domain name is also available.

Also, you must Appoint a registered agent, Complete the Public Records Filing, prepare an operating agreement, and File Annual Reports.

In addition, you must comply with all the additional tax and regulatory requirements.

We hope you find this guide on how to start an LLC in New Jersey helpful.

Kindly share with your friends.

How to start an LLC in other states of the United States

This is for you

Wealthgist - Personal Finance and Passive Incomes